NANO Week 3 2015: This is me

2403658 skeleton working on laptop

Well, week 3 is over and this is the home stretch. There have been good days (3400+ words) and there have been bad days (458 words) but it feels pretty good to be on the up side of 40K words. There is motivation in knowing that if I want to hit the 50K mark right on time, I only have to write a little over 960 words per day. The other side of that his that I need to write.

This is the hit the wall time. The home stretch which should have my fingers flying over the keyboard. The finish line at the tips of my fingers. Reality, this is when the exhaustion sets in. When I am thankful for those push ahead to get ahead days. Those stay above the graph days because you know when the ends comes, so does the end’s companion – exhaustion.

This has been a challenging year, but I have been motivated by my writing comrade who in a few days overcame a 20K word deficit to soar past me. There is my dove in the wind circling overhead, reminding me that anything is possible during National Novel Writing Month.

Lessons from Week 3 of NANO 2015

  1. Anything is possible. Whether approaching with small stints of writing or plunging in head or feet first do what works for you.
  2. Planning can work. While I didn’t plan out my story, I planned out how to approach NANO this year. I set my goals, and worked my plan. Staying ahead of the game at the beginning is my life saver for the end.
  3. Don’t give up. That doesn’t mean don’t take a break. Sometimes the best way to get through is to stop and step away. Of course, that means being committed to coming back and finishing out but the for me that certificate that says I made it is motivation enough to at least try.
  4. Exhaustion will come – and it will go. Acknowledge it when it peaks over the horizon, say hello to it, sit and talk for a while if you must, but be okay wishing it well and going on your way.
About Ana'Gia Wright

Ana’Gia Wright is a firm believer that reading and writing go hand and hand. A southerner through and through she loves her peaches and pecans while curling up with a good book. A master of resourcefulness her love of research leads her down paths of discovery that touch every aspect of her writing. Her love of reading ignited her passion for writing leading her to frequently fill page after page with tales of her beloved characters’ adventures. An influence and an adversary she loves to sprinkle facts about her beloved Georgia throughout her fictional worlds. Sneak peeks of her projects, including those by her alter ego Aziza Sphinx, are always available on her website www.authoranagiawright.com
This entry was posted in Writer's Way and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

