Week 2: Not quite done

4825817 magic book

I must admit, week 2 of NANO progressed further than I expected. Like my story a little more than before which leads me to believe that where I started will not ultimately be my beginning. But I’m okay with that. Won’t think too much on it right now as part of my commitment to NANO is no editing, just keep moving forward and get the story done.

The 30K mark is a place to celebrate, especially since it means that I start week 3 ahead of the 1667 word per day goal giving me a little leeway with my word count for the week. The holidays are on the horizon and weekend writing may become slim, so I’m staying the course and trying to keep my count to at least 1667 a day to feel okay with playing hooky a day or two.

Week 2 lessons:

1. Thirties are my friend. The 30 minutes writing/30 minutes goofing off are working well for this year’s story.

2. So typically I am a pants-er, and this year isn’t much different except I had started outlining the general progression of my story in August as a just in case. I haven’t had to look at those notes so far, and I feel a little guilty about that.

3. Inspiration is all around. I started off a little slow, the weather not quite cooperating (it rained every day for the first week of the month) but by week 2 the sun graced us with its presence. I also kicked up my exercise game which typically gets my mind churning. But my greatest inspiration is reading. When I’ve completed a chapter my mind is full of new ideas, new challenges for my characters to face and they appear to be happy with the new direction.

4. Be okay with change. My original plan was writing by hand, and while I started off this project doing just that, I’ve found that this set of characters prefers the clicking of the keyboard to the swish and swirl of the pen. I tried in vein to continue my by hand commitment, but eventually I gave in. Now I am more productive than ever.

5. Let them in. Listen to them and let them guide. Characters have a way of letting themselves be known. Don’t try to force them into the nice little hole created for them. Allow them to explore, succeed, and fail. They’ll grow with the story just as the writer does.

About Ana'Gia Wright

Ana’Gia Wright is a firm believer that reading and writing go hand and hand. A southerner through and through she loves her peaches and pecans while curling up with a good book. A master of resourcefulness her love of research leads her down paths of discovery that touch every aspect of her writing. Her love of reading ignited her passion for writing leading her to frequently fill page after page with tales of her beloved characters’ adventures. An influence and an adversary she loves to sprinkle facts about her beloved Georgia throughout her fictional worlds. Sneak peeks of her projects, including those by her alter ego Aziza Sphinx, are always available on her website www.authoranagiawright.com
This entry was posted in Writer's Way and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

