NANO 2015: Week 1 Done

Still life shot of drawing with ink

Week one is done and week two is on the horizon. Here are the lessons I’ve learned:

  1. I’ve overcome fear of not knowing where to start – sometimes you just have to dive in and start anywhere.
  2. I’ve worked my way though loathing my story – I hated it, I still hate it, but its gaining momentum. Not saying that I will keep this story (it could be on its way to file 13/the circular file the minute NANO is over and I have validated my word count) but I’m starting to see potential in my original idea
  3. Spurts reign supreme. I’ve garnered my biggest boost in numbers sticking to a 30 minute writing, 30 minute goofing off schedule. Those moments of rest give my mind enough of a reprieve to be ready to go at it again when the timer dings.
  4. Getting ahead of the game. My typical goal with NANO is to start strong. Life happens – to all of us – but if I can get ahead, boost those numbers and pad that count then I don’t feel so bad later in the month when family is calling and I have to choose between the holiday and my writing.
  5. Don’t give up. Many times I wanted to walk away, to throw my hands to the wind and say not this year. I teetered with this idea even before NANO began having to convince myself that I was committed enough to do this. And I’m glad I did. Watching that word count graph grow, the certificates and accolades from the program and participants keep me going. Oh how I appreciate the little things.

So I’ll head back to my cave and bury my head in the sand (at least for the next 30 minute). We shall see what week 2 brings, more revelations or more heartache.

About Ana'Gia Wright

Ana’Gia Wright is a firm believer that reading and writing go hand and hand. A Southerner through and through, she loves her peaches and pecans while curling up with a good book. A master of resourcefulness, her love of research leads her down paths of discovery that touch every aspect of her writing. Her love of reading ignited her passion for writing, leading her to frequently fill page after page with tales of her beloved characters’ adventures. An influence and an adversary, she loves to sprinkle facts about her beloved Georgia throughout her fictional worlds. Sneak peeks of her projects, including those by her alter ego Aziza Sphinx, are always available on her website www.authoranagiawright.com
This entry was posted in Writer's Way and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

