NANO Week 3: I almost taste victory.

Readem_NANOCounting down. Almost there. Calling it a night on 11/22/2014 with my word count at 45183. I’m in a good place. I can see the 50K just on the horizon. But I am in no way delusional. This puppy still has a long way to go. But, to tied you all over until then, here is my working cover and a snippet. Enjoy, and don’t forget to Write On!

“How’s she doing back there?” Clyde asked as he turned down the driveway towards the house.

I vaguely remember what happened, the jump and all. I guess when I finally hit the seat the adrenaline wore off, and things grew hazy. I don’t, however, remember much of the drive over, and I guess at some point I really crashed because when I opened my eyes this last time both Billy and Sira were in the back seat.

“She’s waking. But she’s cold.” Sira said.

I didn’t feel cold. Or did I? My mind couldn’t focus long enough to allow my nerves to give me a clear picture of what was going on with my body. And why was my mouth so dry?

“Hang on Lavenia. We’re almost there.”

Was that Billy? Or maybe Clyde? Definitely a male voice. And why the hell is this fog in my head?

We skidded to a halt. I only knew because I went forward, my head hitting the back of the passenger seat. Who the hell took my seat belt off?

“Watch it!” Sira yelled.

I wanted to shield my eyes from the light when the door swung open, but my limbs refused to cooperate. Something must have happened. I no longer felt completely connected to my body. Like last night, when the portal called to me. Wonder if this is what it feels like to be on drugs.

“Don’t let her touch the ground.”

The warmth returned the minute I was cradled in a pair of strong muscular arms. My eyes fluttered open again, my vision was hazy but closer to focusing.

“Stay with me Priestess.”

Rasul’s voice coaxed my mind back into a more secure connection with the body I now resided in. My heart beat returned to a regular pattern, falling into sync with his. He held me close, the heat from his body radiating through mine, warming me from the inside out. I didn’t understand the connection, but I wanted it, needed it in order to remain here. I heard the others following us. Where were we going?

“Stay outside the flowers. Don’t enter the circle.”

I strained to see where we were. I’d closed my eyes as we moved, concentrating on the rise and fall of Rasul’s chest as his breathing increased. He was solid, real; something to cling to and trust.

“I’m going to put your feet down now. Stay with me, Priestess.”

I nodded my head, feeling the up and down of the movement. I was connecting again. My arms encircled his neck as he adjusted to hold me with one arm. He managed to slide off my shoes and socks.

“Are you ready?” he asked, waiting for my confirmation before he placed my feet on the ground.

“Yes,” I managed. I had my voice back.

His free arm went to my waist as he allowed my legs to drop free. He held me, suspended, our bodies pressed together as he closed his eyes and tilted his head up to the heavens. Slowly, he lowered me to the ground, my body reacting to the feel of his, that primal desire shared between a man and a woman. It all dissolved away the minute my toes touched the earth.

About Ana'Gia Wright

Ana’Gia Wright is a firm believer that reading and writing go hand and hand. A Southerner through and through, she loves her peaches and pecans while curling up with a good book. A master of resourcefulness, her love of research leads her down paths of discovery that touch every aspect of her writing. Her love of reading ignited her passion for writing, leading her to frequently fill page after page with tales of her beloved characters’ adventures. An influence and an adversary, she loves to sprinkle facts about her beloved Georgia throughout her fictional worlds. Sneak peeks of her projects, including those by her alter ego Aziza Sphinx, are always available on her website www.authoranagiawright.com
This entry was posted in Writer's Way and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

